Fonica was founded in 2002 by Keiichi Sugimoto and Cheason from Tokyo. Keiichi is also a member of Minamo, an electro-acoustic group. He runs the Cubic Music label, founded in 1999 as a record label, sound production, and design works. Cheason, the female part of Fonica, designs most of the artwork for the Plop label. In 2004, Fonica played at Sonar Sound Tokyo.

 Cubicmusic homepage
 Cubicfabric homepage

Listen to Fonica


(V.A.) Bip-Hop Generation Vol.7
[CD: BiP_HOp, 2004]

A 14-track compilation featuring Taylor Dupree, Emisor, Fm3, Ghislain Poirier, Janek Schaefer, and Fonica with a track called Scoot.


(Remix) 'Tape/Operette -opera remixes-'
[CD: cubicfabric, 2004]

Remixes of album "Opera" (Haäpna) by Swedish electro-acoustic trio Tape, featuring Josh Abrams, Anderegg, Oren Ambarchi, David Grubbs, Hazard, Minamo, Pita, Rechord, Stephan Mathieu, and crossing longitude by Fonica.


(V.A.) E • A • D • G • B • E    [CD: 12k, 2003]

A 14-track compilation featuring Keith Fullerton, Sébastien Roux, Christopher Willits and Fonica with two tracks called 4.55 and "3.33".


(Album) Ripple    [CD/12": Tomlab, 2003]

|01| soar |02| twang |03| whirr
|04| perch |05| fluid |06| coda
|07| rusl |08| zephyr



(Album) Ripple    [CD: Plop, 2002]

|01| soar |02| twang |03| whirr
|04| perch |05| fluid |06| coda
|07| rusl |08| skim |09| zephyr |10| perch (mitchell akiyama remix) |11| rusl (sogar remix)
Read online review of "Ripple"

plop_micro blue

(V.A.) Micro Blue    [CD: Plop, 2002]

A 14-track compilation featuring tracks by artists from Japan and worldwide, including Geoff White, drummatic, Dorine_Muraille, Rip-off Artist, Taisuke Matsuo, Omb, Onpack, Yuzo Kako Jetone, Neina, mondii, Waki, as well as two tracks by Fonica called perch and rusl.

Home || Sitemap || Imprint